Home > Books >

Afternoon Tea Serenade

Afternoon Tea Serenade

Alternative Views:

Recipes from Famous Tea Rooms

Classical Chamber Music

Price: $32.00

Product Code: 12CDI

Description Listen to the Music!

Afternoon tea is a time for relaxation and revitalization. Here are recipes for cooks who want to recreate this civilized experience at home, including scones, sandwiches, quick breads, and pastries. Also included are a guide to the world’s teas, tea history and lore, and charming line drawings throughout.

The recording of beautiful chamber music for harp, flute, violin, and cello sets the mood for a relaxing retreat from the pressures of the outside world.

Cookbook Contributors

23 contributors, 224 pages

  • The Adolphus, Dallas, Texas
  • Blithewold Mansion & Gardens, Bristol, Rhode Island
  • Claridge’s, London, England
  • The Empress, Victoria, British Columbia
  • Filoli, Woodside, California
  • Fortnum & Mason, London, England
  • Four Seasons Olympic, Seattle, Washington
  • Grand Bay Hotel, Coconut Grove, Florida
  • Harrods, London, England
  • The Hay-Adams Hotel, Washington, D.C.
  • The Heathman Hotel, Portland, Oregon
  • Hotel Bel-Air, Los Angeles, California
  • The King Edward, Toronto, Ontario
  • Palace Hotel, San Francisco, California
  • The Plaza, New York, New York
  • The Ritz-Carlton, Boston, Massachusetts
  • The Ritz-Carlton, Buckhead, Atlanta, Georgia
  • The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, Illinois
  • The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco, California
  • The Savoy, London, England
  • Windsor Court Hotel, New Orleans, Louisiana
  • Winterthur, Delaware

Music CD

  1. Siciliano
  2. Berceuse
  3. Rondeau
  4. Greensleeves Variations
  5. Haru No Umi
  6. Interlude, Sonata for Flute, Viola, and Harp
  7. The Swan
  8. Allemande and Gigue from Sonata in E minor
  9. Gymnopedies, Nos. 1 and 2
  10. The Girl with the Flaxen Hair
  11. Sicilienne
  12. Chanson Dans La Nuit

San Francisco Silverwood Ensemble:
Julie McKenzie, flute; Melissa Kleinbart, violin; Carla Maria Rodriguez, viola; Sharon O'Connor, cello; Olga Rakitchenkov, harp

Average Rating: Average Rating: 4.5 of 5 4.5 of 5 Total Reviews: 8 Write a review »

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
1 of 5 Type of music July 11, 2020
: Anonymous Person from Reston, VA United States  
Chamber music would have been far
More appropriate.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
5 of 5 Book on Tea and light lunch meals December 1, 2019
: Rita Jansen from Kenosha, WI United States  
This book is perfect for my friend who loves music and likes to have people over for lunch.  The recipes are easy, delicious, and great.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
5 of 5 Great products May 25, 2019
: Anonymous Person from Effingham, IL United States  
I like the recipes AND the music.  I've already listened to the CD a couple of times and have started the recipes.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
5 of 5 November 22, 2018
: Sally Cornell from Kennsington, MD United States  
The cd and book will be a Christmas present.  I hope they are as good as the write-up in the catalog.  I'm sure they will be.  My experience with the order taker was positive.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
4 of 5 CD January 3, 2018
: Gloria Cisotto from Corpus Christi, TX United States  
The book is filled with great recipes. The only issue I had was that it comes with a CD of music. With streaming music these days owing a CD player has become pretty much obsolete, at least in my house. Will have to figure out a way to listen to the CD without having to urchase a player.

Was this review helpful to you?

View All Customer Reviews